I’m running on about three hours of sleep and a coffee I got earlier today that did almost nothing, so my head is basically filled with unnecessary information just waiting to be let out to an audience who doesn’t really need to know it.

For instance, did you know that the fur colour on siamese cats is temperature sensitive? Or that there is a super great list of cats on wikipedia? or that the cats from Aristocats are actually the cutest?

I promise I don’t only talk about cats.

(But you have to admit they’re adorable.)

On an entirely different subject, my phone now recognizes when I’m trying to type “broski.”

I think it’s gaining sentience.

Although my phone might not even exist outside of my mind, according to an 18th century Irish philosopher named George Berkeley. One anthology of readings in philosophy called him the greatest Irish philosopher ever. He theorized that nothing exists except when perceived by someone. Kind of like “if a tree falls in the forest and there’s no one around to hear it, does it still make a sound?” except it’s a little different. It also means that other people don’t actually exist unless you perceive them. Like, the way you experience your best friend is a reflection of how you perceive them, so they don’t really exist outside of that perception.

I don’t buy it, but it’s fun to think about (like most things from 18th century Europe).

Also my younger brother recently told me that on a microscopic level, you can’t actually touch anything – you think you touch it, but it’s just energy or static electricity or something that makes you think you’re making contact with it.

These are some of the reasons I’m an art student.

… I think I need another coffee.

Leave a Reply

